1 of 7

Connect with hundreds of tutors like Sonia

Expert tutoring for students at all levels

150,000+ clients. 4.9 / 5.0 Rating of Tutoring Sessions

Who needs a tutor?
How soon do you need tutoring?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Featured by
Tutors from
A photo of Sonia, a tutor from Excelsior College


Certified Tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor
(888) 888-0446

Tutoring is assisting students/learners become independent life-long learners who are self-motivated and self-directed to follow their hearts, achieve their dreams, and meet their goals through the development of behaviors and habits which support their comprehension and processing of information. We work together (the student/learner and I) to build a resource toolkit specific to each learner's unique learning needs and management.
My education, knowledge, training, skills and abilities are diverse. I started tutoring in 1990 and worked at a College Learning Center and with Summer Camps in Brooklyn, New York. I areas I concentrate on are English (Writing and Reading), English Language Arts, English as a Second/Foreign Language ESL/EFL), and English Literature for both adults and children. We work on building confidence, improving comprehension, application and analysis, as well as learn to brainstorm, outline, and define terms. My students/learners come from diverse backgrounds and cultures and include, but are not limited to my own children, their friends (elementary, middle school, high school and college), our family friends, co-workers, and their children (Military and non-military).
I am working on a Master of Arts in Teaching English as a Second/Foreign Language, completed some graduate studies in Secondary Education, Grades 6 12, English Language Arts (20 semester hours), and post-Graduate studies in Post-Secondary and Adult Education (18 quarter hours). Also, I graduated Troy University (Master of Science in Human Resources Management), and Excelsior College (Bachelor of Science in Liberal Studies). My professional affiliations for English and ESL include the National Council for Teachers of English, 1990 to present, The Association for Supervision and Curriculum Development, 2009 to present, the National Association of Bilingual Education, 2018 to present, and the Teaching English to Speakers of Other Language (TESOL), 2018 to Present.
Outside of fulltime work and part-time tutoring, I calm my senses by walking, dancing, listening to music, singing out load (Karaoke), bike riding, and the occasional binge watching on Netflix (with my family). Housecleaning does wonders for clearing my thoughts and processing feelings (especially when my children participate in completing their assigned chores). I enjoy Home & Garden Television (HGTV), interior design and decorating, landscaping designs and learning to care for plants and grow food (gardening). For continued personal and family growth, I am learning about investing and financial management with my children in tow. So, everything I like and enjoy are resources for my toolkit designed to aid reflection, improve personal/professional development, support critical thinking, information processing, and action planning. Essentially, I am a product of my own teaching philosophy. I am proof that learning and growing never ceases, that there is always something to learn, whether it is using features on a new phone, following a recipe, making clothes or a bucket list, listening to music, watching a movie, or reading an article/book outside your comfort zone. It is important to remember learning is everywhere we go, and in everything we do at home, school, work, or play and in self-care.
Thank you for choosing to share your learning journey with me. It's my pleasure to meet you and learn to work together.

Connect with a tutor like Sonia

Sonia’s Qualifications

Education & Certification

Undergraduate Degree: Excelsior College - Bachelor of Science, Liberal Arts and Sciences

Graduate Degree: Troy University - Master of Science, Human Resources Management


Assigning chores to my children, going walking, dancing, listening to music, bike riding, learning new games (video and board), singing karaoke (all with my family and friends). I love Home and Garden Television (HGTV), interior design and decorating, landscape designing and gardening, investing and financial management, movies, books and me-time (self-care).

Tutoring Subjects


British Literature



CLEP Analyzing and Interpreting Literature

CLEP College Composition

CLEP English Literature

College English

Creative Writing

Elementary School English

Elementary School Reading

Elementary School Writing


English Grammar and Syntax

Essay Editing

Expository Writing

GED Prep

GED Reasoning Through Language Arts

High School English

High School Level American Literature

High School Writing

Human Development

Human Resources


Middle School English

Middle School Reading

Middle School Reading Comprehension

Middle School Writing



STAAR Grades 3-8 Prep

Test Prep


Connect with a tutor like Sonia