1 of 7

Connect with hundreds of tutors like Tara

Expert tutoring for students at all levels

150,000+ clients. 4.9 / 5.0 Rating of Tutoring Sessions

Who needs a tutor?
How soon do you need tutoring?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Featured by
Tutors from
A photo of Tara, a tutor from York College of Pennsylvania


Certified Tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor
(888) 888-0446

My degree and certification in Secondary English Education from York College of Pennsylvania makes me a die-hard York Peppermint Patty fan, but mostly, it gives me the passion for teaching students of all ages and backgrounds to enjoy learning through real life, hands-on, and visual examples. This includes even the nitty gritty of English, Literature, and Writing. As a previous journalism major, I also enjoy teaching and learning more about communication, history, and politics. My philosophy of education is to teach my students to love truth, beauty, and goodness, as it develops the desire to be a life-long learner. This will ultimately create meaningful connections and deeper understanding of the information, no matter the subject. I have a combined 4 years of tutoring students from kindergarten through 8th grade in urban to suburban schools in the United States, Guatemala, and The Netherlands, as well as 2 years of teaching 7-12 grade in both public and private, classical schools. Though my first love is 6-12th grade/college Writing and Literature, I have also taught elementary and middle school science, Pre-Algebra, and Algebra 1. My experience gives me not only the drive, but the skill to educate any student. I truly believe that education is the portal to success. Outside of teaching, I spend as much time as I can in nature, playing my ukulele, and finding the best cup of coffee.

Connect with a tutor like Tara

Tara’s Qualifications

Education & Certification

Undergraduate Degree: York College of Pennsylvania - Bachelor in Arts, Teacher Education, Multiple Levels


Interests: culturally responsive multi-cultural literature, history, physical and life science, nature, making and listening to music, coffee culture, and learning new things about the topics I love... or ones I *don't* know much about yet! Hobbies: hiking, traveling, reading, eating delicious food, writing, gaming with my brothers, gardening, spending time with my husband, friends, and family, and of course, finding great coffee shops.

Tutoring Subjects

American Literature


Essay Editing

High School English

High School Level American Literature

High School Writing

Middle School

Middle School Reading

Middle School Reading Comprehension

Middle School Writing


Public Speaking


Connect with a tutor like Tara