1 of 7

Connect with hundreds of tutors like Jacob

Expert tutoring for students at all levels

150,000+ clients. 4.9 / 5.0 Rating of Tutoring Sessions

Who needs a tutor?
How soon do you need tutoring?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Featured by
Tutors from
A photo of Jacob, a tutor from University of Wisconsin-Madison


Certified Tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor
(888) 888-0446

I'm a graduate student at the University of Bloomington Indiana studying History. When preparing for PhD applications I initially felt that the GRE was going to be one of the most daunting components of my application. However, I soon found out with regular practice, some hard work, not to mention some test tricks, it didn't need to be too difficult. My method seemed to work great as I scored top marks (98th percentile) on both the qualitative and writing section.
Aside from my research, what I love most about being a graduate student is the opportunity to teach. For the last two years I've worked as an assistant instructor: teaching sections, holding office hours and occasionally lecturing in classes such as Religion in America and Inside Nazi Germany. Before graduate school I worked as a history teacher, teaching AP US, and world history, and substituting occasionally to teach AP Euro. I've also worked for four years at a unique Hebrew immersion program, where I taught Hebrew through both formal and informal teaching methods to high schoolers.
I'm happy to help students from high schoolers to graduating college undergraduates with a variety of subjects. Aside from GRE prep, I'm happy to help with history courses, Hebrew and college applications (I worked for a summer in college admissions at UW Madison, so I also have a bit of an inside perspective on this).
In my free time, I love to read, hike, cook and play racquetball, along with a million other things But I'm a graduate student, so I don't have much free time!

Connect with a tutor like Jacob

Jacob’s Qualifications

Education & Certification

Undergraduate Degree: University of Wisconsin-Madison - Bachelor in Arts, History

Graduate Degree: Indiana University-Bloomington - Master of Arts, History

Test Scores

GRE Verbal: 168

GRE Analytical Writing: 5.5


Aside from doing my research and reading, I love to anything outdoors, hiking, biking, camping. I'm a big football fan (go packers!) and am starting to get more and more into the NBA. I love to cook, and once worked as a professional cheese monger, so happy to answer any cheese related questions after the tutoring session.

Connect with a tutor like Jacob