1 of 7

Connect with hundreds of tutors like Laura

Expert tutoring for students at all levels

150,000+ clients. 4.9 / 5.0 Rating of Tutoring Sessions

Who needs a tutor?
How soon do you need tutoring?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Featured by
Tutors from
A photo of Laura, a tutor from Truman State University


Certified Tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor
(888) 888-0446

I have over ten years of experience tutoring students of all ages and levels of education. I am a creative and dedicated tutor who cares for the education of each student.

While receiving my degree in classics with an minor in italian studies from Truman State University I worked as a Latin Tutor from 205-2007. I held weekly office hours where I tutored students in Latin. Predominantly I tutored students in Latin 100 through Latin 201 although students in Latin 300 did occasionally seek tutoring.

At the University of Arizona, where I got my Master's Degree in Classics with an emphasis in ancient history, I worked as a Latin TA and as a TA for the course Songs of Homer. I was responsible for teaching Latin 100 and Latin 101. As a Latin TA tests and quizzes were made with the guidance of a professor; however, I was charged with preparing and leading daily lessons, grading papers, assigning and grading homework and attending weekly office hours. My responsibilities for Songs of Homer included grading homework, essays, and exams. I was also charged with occasionally preparing and delivering lectures on Homer's Odyssey and Iliad.

While I was living in Rome, Italy and working primarily as a tour guide of the major sites including the Vatican Museums, Colosseum, Capitoline Museum and many major churches and basilicas I got certified to teach English as a second language. I taught and tutored English as a second language to students of all ages and levels, including test preparation, English for business, and English conversation. My students ranged from ages 3-70 and I led private and small group lessons.

From 2013-2018 in Springfield, MO I taught Latin and Italian to small groups of adult learners and French to small groups of pre-school and elementary age students. I was also hired by a family as a private Latin tutor for their two children from 2015-2018. We completed Oxford Latin books one and two and then read adapted works by Virgil, Julius Caesar, Horace, and Petronius. When I moved from Springfield, MO to Overland Park KS in 2015 we did our lessons online.

From 20I5-2017 I prepared one hour presentations on history and culture for the residents of Creekside Retirement Community. Most presentations centered around European history, particularly the history of Italy during the Roman period and Renaissance. Each presentation included a Keynote presentation while most had additional materials such as music, video, personal photos, and food that were brought in to bring the material to life.

For the past year and a half I have been a member of the Kansas City Woodworking Guild. While I am not a professional woodworker, I am comfortable with the use of many tools and have made several items that I am proud of. I am the vice-chairperson of the Safety Committee at the KCWG and through the safety committee I regularly volunteer to teach Rough to Ready, a course that instructs and promotes the safe use of woodworking tools. I also volunteer to lead and assist safety orientations. I also taught a class on how to make Shaker step stools.

Connect with a tutor like Laura

Laura’s Qualifications

Education & Certification

Undergraduate Degree: Truman State University - Bachelor in Arts, Classics

Graduate Degree: University of Arizona - Master of Arts, Classics


Woodworking, crochet, reading

Tutoring Subjects


American Literature

AP World History


Conversational Italian


English Grammar and Syntax


Essay Editing

High School English

High School Level American Literature




Latin 1

Latin 2

Latin 3

Latin 4


Public Speaking

Social Studies

Connect with a tutor like Laura