1 of 7

Connect with hundreds of tutors like Jena

Expert tutoring for students at all levels

150,000+ clients. 4.9 / 5.0 Rating of Tutoring Sessions

Who needs a tutor?
How soon do you need tutoring?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Featured by
Tutors from
A photo of Jena, a tutor from University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire

Jena

Certified Tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor
(888) 888-0446

I graduated from the University of Wisconsin Eau Claire in May of 2017 with a Bachelor of Arts in Spanish and Latin American Studies. Since then, I have been traveling and living in Spanish speaking countries, perfecting my language speaking skills. In total, I have visited six different Spanish-Speaking countries and lived in three; Guatemala, Costa Rica, and Spain. I find that as a Spanish tutor, these experiences give me a unique perspective as I have a good understanding of the differences between Spanish spoken in a variety of places. Although I have moved back to the United States, I still speak Spanish daily with my co-workers.

I have a wide range of teaching experience. In total, I have spent seven years formally teaching or tutoring. Currently, I teach ESL to young students in China through the platform VIPKID (my ESL teaching experience equals more than one year). I've also spent one year tutoring a nine year old in reading, during which time we were able to increase her reading by two grade levels! In addition, I have five years of experience as a Teacher's Aide in a kindergarten classroom. And, although I have the least formal tutoring experience in Spanish, only a three months with formal clients, I do consider this area my expertise due to my Bachelor's Degree and first-hand experience with the language.

Producing language (even incorrect language) is pertinent in learning a second language - which means that building confidence is key! I'm skilled at creating an open, relaxing, fun environment that encourages students to make mistakes, from which we can learn together! I find that when students are comfortable, this also allows me to get to know them better, allowing me to adjust to their personal needs and preferences. After all, these sessions are about YOU!

In my personal time, I love listening to podcasts and reading, traveling, and meeting new people.

I sincerely love what I do, and am excited to help you with your Spanish or English needs!

Connect with a tutor like Jena

Jena’s Qualifications

Education & Certification

Undergraduate Degree: University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire - Bachelor in Arts, Latin American Studies

Hobbies

Spending time out doors, listening to podcasts, reading, journaling, scrapbooking

Tutoring Subjects

Elementary School Reading

English

English Grammar and Syntax

ESL/ELL

Essay Editing

High School English

High School Writing

Languages

Middle School Reading

Middle School Reading Comprehension

Public Speaking

Spanish

Spanish 1

Spanish 2

Spanish 3

Spanish 4

Connect with a tutor like Jena