1 of 7

Connect with hundreds of tutors like Sean

Expert tutoring for students at all levels

150,000+ clients. 4.9 / 5.0 Rating of Tutoring Sessions

Who needs a tutor?
How soon do you need tutoring?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Featured by
Tutors from
A photo of Sean, a tutor from University of Colorado Boulder


Certified Tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor
(888) 888-0446

My preferred subjects to tutor are pre-algebra, algebra, geometry, trigonometry, pre-calculus, and SAT/ACT prep. I enjoy tutoring these subjects because I am fluent in their content and understand their practical use firsthand because of my technical engineering background.

Teaching Philosophy: My teaching style is best described as: student-centered, inquiry-based, and mastery-based. This means that I let the student's understandings and interest guide the learning. To know what they want to learn and what they already know, I ask strategic questions. These open-ended questions allow the student to express their interest and knowledge so that we do not spend time working on material that is either too basic or too advanced, but rather just right (the Goldilocks effect).

Lastly, the mastery-based approach means that before moving on to another skill, I ensure the student has mastered what they were learning. True mastery means that the student can independently apply the skill in a new situation. A quick formative assessment allows me to assess the student's mastery. Some examples of quick formative assessments are: completing a practice problem, strategic questioning, teaching the new skill to someone, or explaining the steps involved orally, written, or in a graphic organizer. Experience: I have over ten years combined teaching and tutoring experience. My first formal experience was tutoring fellow students while I was in college. I worked for about three years at the University of Colorado at Boulder and Red Rocks Community College. I tutored basic math through calculus 2, physics, and chemistry. I then lived in Guadalajara, Mexico for a year and taught English. Upon returning to the United States, I began teaching at Denver Public Schools from six years. I initially taught elementary and all students were native Spanish speakers. Instruction was in both English and Spanish. After teaching elementary, I missed teaching math and science, so I began teaching high school algebra and geometry in Denver Public Schools.

Education: I have a Bachelor of Science in Environmental Engineering from the University of Colorado (CU) at Boulder. Some highlights from my time at CU were first place at both the regional WEF/AWWA and national WEFTEC wastewater treatment design competition, designing an alternative cooking fuel source in Rwanda with Engineers Without Borders, and graduating on the Engineering Deans list.

Connect with a tutor like Sean

Sean’s Qualifications

Education & Certification

Undergraduate Degree: University of Colorado Boulder - Bachelor of Science, Environmental Engineering

Test Scores

SAT Math: 790


I love spending time outside in Colorado. I am an avid mountain biker. I love all things bikes. I even worked at a bicycle shop for eight years in my past. My son and I also go to the bike park together now (he is five years old). I also enjoy hiking, camping, and backpacking. Another major interest of mine is art. I draw and paint with watercolor. Much of my art is influenced by math. I am even working on a children's math book! Ask me more about it, and I would love to share. Lastly, I am a soap maker. I have a small business called Le'n Soap Company. I make basic soap, scrubbing soap, and shave soap.

Tutoring Subjects

Connect with a tutor like Sean